top of page

End of Semester Self- Assesment

The tasks completed in my Elementary Spanish class have tremendously helped me with learning the language. The tasks provided by the instructor were pretty concise and this was beneficial because learning a new language can become frustrating at times. As the semester progressed, I realized that my Spanish improved tremendously because I was speaking the language more frequently. After taking this course, I realized that the issue I had with Spanish was the fact that my Spanish teachers in high school made us spend more time conjugating verbs and writing the language instead of speaking it. It is imperative that one becomes aware that writing the language and being able to speak and understand the language require completely different skills. I am also extremely grateful that a heavy focus was placed on conversations that occur on a daily basis. For example, being able to order food in Spanish or even understand what the airport signs meant. One important thing I also learned throughout the semester was that it was totally fine if I made a mistake while speaking the language. This was a major deal for me because prior to taking the class I would get really flustered if I made a mistake while attempting to engage in a Spanish conversation. In addition, being able to utilize different language strategies when I did not understand what was being said also helped with my learning. All in all, this course taught me a lot about the basics of learning Spanish. I really enjoyed completing the tasks because they were able to assist me with conversations in the real world. I must also mention that I now feel more confident to engage in Spanish conversations.

bottom of page